9th, 11th, 13th, Augmented, Diminished, Add Chords, & Major/Minor Extended

Since there are only 7 tonal degrees in a given scale, numbers 9, 11, & 13 are given for going beyond 7, back through the scale

  • A 9th chord is actually a 2nd chord (not flattened), but its called a 9th if the 7th is also present, since it goes through the 7 tonal degrees and back around to the 2nd tonal degree
    • C9: C E G Bb and D
    • Cmaj9: C, E, G, B, D (Maj. implies dominant 7th)
    • Cm9: C, D#, G, Bb, D (Minor keeps its flattened 3rd)
    • Cadd9: C, E, G, and add the 9th (D)
    • C6/9: C, E, G, A, D (with added 6th (A) and added 9th (D))
    • Csus2: C G Bb and D (3rd is omitted)
  • An 11th is the actually the 4th chord (raised if 3rd is minored), and usually includes the 7th, 9th (2nd), as well as the 4th (11th)
    • Omitting the 5th turns it into a Suspended chord
    • The 3rd is often omitted because of conflicts with the Major 11th
    • When the 3rd is lowered, it becomes a Minor Chord
      • Cm11: C, Eb, G, Bb, D, F
    • The Major 11th is usually sharped, in reference to the 3rd
      • CMaj11: C-E-G-B-D-F#
      • C11: C-E-G-Bb-D-F#
  • A 13th is actually an added 6th, higher than the 7 tonal degrees in the scale,
    • 13th chords usually contain the Root, 3rd, 7th, & 13th
    • Usually 13th chords omit the 5th & 9th, or 9th & 11th tonal position to make it more playable on guitar
      • C13: C, E, G, Bb, A (Includes 7th)
      • Cmaj13: C, E, G, B, D, F#, A (includes Dominant 7th, the 9th, & the raised 11th)
      • Cmaj13: C, E, G, B, A (more playable)
  • Augmented Chords
    • The 5th is raised one half tone
      • Caug: C, E, G#
    • Augmented 7th just adds the flattened 7th
      • Caug7: C, E, G#, Bb
  • Diminished Chords (Diminished Triads – I, iii, IV)
    • The same as a Minor, only the 5th is flattened, along with the 3rd
      • Cdim: C, Eb, Gb
    • Diminished 7th is the Same as a Diminished, with a further Diminished 7th (Double Diminished/ Whole-tone Diminished)
      • Cdim7: C, Eb, Gb, A (Flattened from the already flattened 7th)
      • There are only 3 different Diminished 7ths possible
      • Diminished Major 7 is written as Cmaj7(#5)
  • Added Chords (Added Extended Chords)
    • Expresses which Chord Tone Position on the Scale to Add
      • Add6, Add4, etc..
    • If more than one extended tone is added on top of the base Triad, the word ‘add’ is usually dropped, and the two tones are divided by a “/”
      • C6/9, etc..
  • Major Extended Chords
    • Maj denotes the 7th Extension is not Minored/ Flattened
      • Maj7: The 7th is not Flattened (Cmaj7: C, E, G, B)
      • Maj9: Also Denotes the 7th is Dominant (not flatted) (CMaj9: C, E, G, B, D)
      • Maj11: Also Denotes the 7th is Dominant and not flatted (Cmaj11: C, E, G, B, D, F#)
      • Maj13: Also Denotes the 7th is Dominant and not flatted (Cmaj13: C, E, G, B, D, F#,
  • Minor Extended Chords
    • Minor denotes the 3rd & 7th Tonal Extensions are Minored/ Flattened, as in a Minor Triad with added 7th
      • Cm9: Like a Cm7 with an added 9th (Cm9: C, D#, G, Bb, D)
      • Cm11: Like a Cm9 with an added raised 11th (Cm11: C, D#, G, Bb, D, F)
      • Cm13: Like a Cm11 with an added 13th (Cm13: C, D#, G, Bb, D, F, A) or (Easier Cm13: C, D#, G, Bb, A – omitting 9th & 11th)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s